top of page
  • White Instagram Icon

CAVIAR & BANANAS

The odd name simultaneously threw me off and intrigued me but I'm so happy I finally decided to give this place a try! They describe themselves as a gourmet market and cafe and I'd have to agree. The way it is laid out and the overall restaurant is a little different than your average spot but I really, really enjoyed it...

Alright... When you first walk in things can be a little overwhelming because there are multiple different "stations" but I ended up really digging it because each area appealed to a different palette. Although I didn't get to check it out, there was a little section up front with gourmet candy and snacks. It looked really interesting and I'll def be checking it out more closely next time I'm in there.

You're then greeted by an area focused around coffee/tea/pastries and small plates/wine which is where I spent most of my time during my first trip... I decided to dive in and get the six small plates for $30 and I'm so happy I did. I looove appetizers/small plates because they allow me to try so many different things at once instead of committing to one large entree! Choosing which small plates to leave out and which ones to try was a definite struggle. I ended up choosing the Prosciutto De Parma, Roasted Brussel Sprouts, Asparagus with Bacon and Egg, BBQ Grilled Shrimp, the Daily Cheese Selection, and their newest small plate: Coffee Crusted Pork Tenderloin. The servings were pretty hearty... I split them with my friend and we both left full and satisfied! Although they were all really, really tasty I had my favorites...

My top two would have to be the Pork Tenderloin and the BBQ Shrimp. Wait, the Brussel Sprouts... Okay, so top three*. First off, the Coffee Crusted Pork Tenderloin: it was settled on vanilla bean creamed corn (SO GOOD!!!) and topped with some crispy kale. The tenderloin was super tender and the creamed corn completed this dish. Next up, the BBQ Shrimp. I was a little skeptical at first because I am not a fan of BBQ (unless it's on pork) but it wasn't too overpowering and I ended up really loving it! I think it may have been my favorite. The shrimp was paired with the most delicious pale ale garlic butter sauce with toasted baguette rounds on the side (which were absolutley perfect for dipping in the leftover sauce). Last but not least, the Roasted Brussel Sprouts. I am a HUGE fan of Brussel sprouts so this plate was a no-brainer. What made this dish unique (and why I would choose their Brussel sprouts over others!) was the Tarragon Aioli and the Rosemary Toasted Walnuts (so, so good).

Aside from the small plates, I ventured over to their HUGE drink selection full of craft beers (local included) and speciality drinks. They were also serving up some SPJ juices. Basically, they had any beverage you could ask for!

I enjoyed my first visit so much that I decided to take another trip to try their coffee and pastries! I ended up just getting an iced vanilla coffee and it was really tasty! I'm usually pretty picky about my coffee but I found theirs to be sweet but not too syrup-y and, overall, just really amazing. I have a huge sweet tooth so naturally I had to have a pastry with my coffee... although I am not allergic to gluten, I decided to give their featured gluten-free muffin a try just in case any of you are sensitive to gluten and are looking for a place to pick up some gluten-free sweets. I am not sure of the exact name of the muffin because it was the daily featured muffin but I believe it was some type of chocolate mocha muffin... I ended up really enjoying it and found the texture and taste to be spot on!

Lastly, there is an area serving sandwiches, salads, and other prepared foods. Although I haven't had a chance to try anything from these stations or from their breakfast/brunch menu, I plan on venturing back to do so very soon because everything looked so delicious (especially the ricotta toast!) and I'm kind of super obsessed with this place...

Caviar and Bananas is located at 1 North Laurens Street and is open M-Th 7AM-8PM, Fri 7AM-9PM, Sat 8AM-9PM, and Sun 8AM-8PM. Aside from dine-in, they conveniently offer pickup and delivery if you're on a time crunch!


bottom of page